Zimbabwe Labour Market Intelligence
Closure at OK Mart small and medium enterprise complex, Bulawayo
A workplace stops operating, is placed on care and maintenance, or resumes operating after a period of closure.
Prepared 5 October 2026
Industrial Psychology Consultants (Pvt) Ltd
Maximising Returns on Human Capital
Closure at OK Mart small and medium enterprise complex, Bulawayo
A workplace stops operating, is placed on care and maintenance, or resumes operating after a period of closure.
What happened, in plain words
About sixty small traders inside a shared retail complex in Bulawayo stopped trading when the complex itself closed. Each of those traders is a business rather than a single job, and most of them employ one or two other people, so the real number of people affected is unknown. The closure matters because shared complexes of this kind are how many Zimbabweans enter formal trading. When one closes, the ladder into formal work is pulled away from a whole group of traders at once.
Not stated
People reported
The source did not give a countable number, so none is shown
1 July 2026
Date of the event
medium
Confidence in the record
How the number was arrived at
Sixty micro enterprises are reported to have stopped trading after the complex closed. The number of people who lost work is not stated, so no count is recorded.
Evidence
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Source | ZimEye |
| Link | https://www.zimeye.net/2026/07/16/60-bulawayo-businesses-close/ |
| Source last opened by the platform | Never checked |
| Evidence retrieved | 20 August 2026 |
| Fingerprint of the source page | Not taken. The page has not been read successfully. |
| Published by the source on | 16 July 2026 |
| Employer | OK Mart small and medium enterprise complex, Bulawayo |
| Sector | Retail & Wholesale |
| Where | Bulawayo, Bulawayo |
| Status on this platform | reported |
| Counted in published figures | No |
The count of sixty refers to businesses and not to workers. It must never be read as a job loss figure. The source does not give the exact closing date, so the first of the month is used.
The rule this record had to meet
A workplace stops operating, is placed on care and maintenance, or resumes operating after a period of closure.
Evidence required: The name of the site and the operator, the date operations stopped or resumed, and a statement from the operator, a landlord, a local authority or an established publication.
As at 5 Oct 2026, 13:42. Method version unknown.